Forum Member

Default Mental Health Question

Hi everyone!
    I know this question has been asked before, but the situations never seem to quite apply to me, so I thought I would write my own:

Right now I'm with a volunteer department. I'm an EMT-B and hoping to get FF1 in the near future. I really want to get on with a career department, and I was hoping for some input on my chances considering my situation.

I'm 28 - about 7 years ago, I had a pretty gnarly depressive episode. It was bad (medication, hospitalization, the works). It took me a while, but I pulled out of it and have been symptom-free ever since. I still take maintenance meds, although I've managed to get off of most of them over the years. I couldn't imagine a situation that would cause me to have those kinds of problems again. In some ways, having gone through that has turned me into a stronger, more compassionate person.

I love being with the fire service, and I don't want something that happened so long ago to define the rest of my life. I've done well with the volunteer department and have no doubt in my ability to thrive in a career department.

Do I stand a chance?

Forum Member

Should

May depend on meds and how you function on them.

If you can get in touch with a HR person from a city you may never test in, ask them about the meds. Also ask about ADA and what you have to disclose or not disclose.

Good thing is you are on a volunteer dept. good history

Try to make people from the volunteer all your references

Forum Member