Forum Member

Default How do I find out which deperment in CT is hiring?

I'm sorry, I'm a noob and in need of assistance. I really want to be a fire fighter, and I want to know which departments in CT is hiring. I know new haven is "Critically" under staffed, I emailed them when they are having the test again and I did not receive a response yet.

I want to apply every where I can find. My friend was a cop in the NYPD for 20 years, so I can see if he can use his contacts to put a good word for me in FDNY, but I do not meet the residency requirements :/ can someone help me out please?

Semper Fi, gents.

Forum Member

Book mark various city web sites and check them maybe twice a month

Also some cities will let you put in a job interest card

Email is not the way to go, you need to put the work in

Forum Member

You need to check each city to see what the minimum requirements are just to apply,

And get them

Forum Member

What I would do if I were you:

-Google map the area you're willing to work in. Print it out or use paint if that helps.

-Google search each town/city name individually and check off or line out departments you've then got bookmarked to your computer, even if they're not hiring at the moment.

-After you've gone through that, you should have a sizeable list (which should get bigger with time if you're willing to work out of state). You should be checking this list once a week, signing up for any job card notification systems you can, and regularly scanning the area again for any small towns or other volunteer opportunities you can get into in the mean time (which are unfortunately for the most part rather competitive as well).

-Shape your resume to focus as much on fire as possible. Apply for any and all departments, go to as many interviews as possible. I recommend you really take in the hiring prerequisites. In other words, this is how the hiring game is.

(example)