Forum Member

Default Retained firefighter UK - How does it work in the US?

Hi all

I'm a Retained Firefighter in the UK, I'm just wondering how this compares to your volunteer departments in the US.

To apply to be a retained FF in the UK you need to be at least 17.5 years of age when applying, but must be 18 years old before joining. You must complete written and physical tests, interview and medical. You must live/work within 5 mins of the station and be able to provide either 120, 100, 80, 60 or 40 hours cover a week.

My service has 5 stations crewed 24/7 (1 with a retained pump), 2 day crew stations (both with retained pumps), and 9 stand alone retained stations, making a total of 12 retained pumps.

My contract is 60 hours, so I must fulfil those hours each week. We plot our availability on an online system which displays the stations availability.

We are fully staffed on station with 12 firefighters to crew our 1 appliance, this includes 2 officers (watch commander and crew commander and 6 drivers)

For our appliance to be available we must have 1 officer (can be the driver), 1 driver, 1 pump operator (can be the driver) and 2 Breathing Appratus wearers, so we can turnout with a crew of 4.
    If we have a crew of 3 we can be mobilised as a small fire crew to any small outside fires.
    Also if we have a crew of 4 but 2 in-experienced BA wearers we can turnout to anything except Building Fires.

In my service Retained arent trained to attend HazMat incidents due to the ongoing extensive training required to fulfil this role.

We train for 2 hours a week on station each week.

Payment;

We get paid an annual retaining fee, depending on how many hours our contract is. I provide 60hrs so I will get paid around 1,500 per year basic salary just to be available on call. However if one week I provide 100 hours cover my basic pay will stay the same.

We get paid per turnout, its approx 15 for the first hour and 10 for every hour after that.