Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Training Requirments and response

Forum Member

Default Training Requirments and response

Background: I am a 17 year veteran of a volunteer department with 450 calls per year EMS/Fire on stretch of Interstate 80 including rural as well as mutual aid with a career department. For most of my tenure I have been among the top 5-10 on a department of 35 members when it comes to number of responses. I am a certified Paramedic and Firefighter II which is the highest combination ranking our department has ever possessed in one member to date. We currently have one Paramedic other than myself, and I serve as a paid Fire/Rescue member with another entity. I live within 1/2 mile, one minute from the station, and have never had any issues with my membership or other circumstances which would downgrade my ability as a member.
    LAW: By law, structural firefighters are required to have 24 hours of training. This can be Fire/EMS, and may be with any department or State recognized training facility/entity.
    Department Bylaws: For some reason, our department decided to expand that law to require 18 of the 24 hours to be in-house training. The only exception would be to have the Chief or Asst Chief sign off on acceptable outside training.