Forum Member

Default 44 years old....what are my chances?

I am currently 44 years old. I have been a Police Officer in the NY area for 23 years. I have an excellent work record, workout regularly and am in pretty good shape. I was a volunteer Fireman for 8 years when I was 18 and left there in good standing to get married and relocate.

I am considering retiring and moving south to the Carolina's. I have always wanted to be a paid fireman. What are the chances for someone my age and not being from the area to be accepted at one of the major city fire departments?

Thanks in advance....TCPD

Forum Member

I known several old farts that have been hired in their 40s over here in the Denver metro area.

Forum Member

I take paid and not volunteer ??
    You need to look to see if any upper age limit

Need to check different city web sites to see if any certs are required just to apply

If not in shape start working out

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Tcpd View Post
    I am currently 44 years old. I have been a Police Officer in the NY area for 23 years. I have an excellent work record, workout regularly and am in pretty good shape. I was a volunteer Fireman for 8 years when I was 18 and left there in good standing to get married and relocate.

I am considering retiring and moving south to the Carolina's. I have always wanted to be a paid fireman. What are the chances for someone my age and not being from the area to be accepted at one of the major city fire departments?

Thanks in advance....TCPD
    My questions:

Have you served in the military?
    Do you have an EMT-B certification?
    Do you have any current IFSAC or Firefighter I certifications?
    Do you have any post highschool education?