• 1 Post By LaFireEducator
  • 1 Post By slackjawedyokel
  • 1 Post By NY3244MI
  • 2 Post By captnjak
  • 1 Post By Chenzo

Thread: SCBAs for non-1403 on the fire grounds

Forum Member

Question SCBAs for non-1403 on the fire grounds

Hello there! I am rather new to the fire service; I have been a member of my department since March 27, 2014 and since then have completed the majority of the required NFPA 1403 series classes. Like many firefighters, I love my department, but there are definitely some policies I do not necessarily agree with. One policy in particular is the policy for donning an SCBA on a fire scene prior to successfully completing 100% of the NFPA 1403 series (thus receiving your interior firefighting certification).

Our SCBA policy is that only firefighters who are 1403 are permitted to wear and use an SCBA on the fire grounds. What is the problem in this? There normally wouldn't be a problem, but at a recent house fire a buddy and I (neither of us 1403, so we couldn't wear an SCBA) were told to grab a line and get to work. Well, we did, and the smoke was absolutely horrible. However, upon taking a break our assistant chief told us to get back out there to "prove ourselves" to the others.

I have a few problems with this situation.

1. We had already been working for a while and were taking a break. I would much rather take a break than to fall out randomly because I'm trying to be macho.

2. If you are going to tell a specific group of firefighters (non-1403) that they cannot don an SCBA, why would you permit them to be in a situation where an SCBA is necessary? It doesn't make a bit of sense to me. I'm not bothered by the rule; I'm bothered by the fact that they tell you that you can't wear an SCBA, but you are placed in situations where one is needed.