Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By FWDbuff
  • 1 Post By FF-Andy
  • 1 Post By islandfire03

Thread: Anti-anxiety/depression meds and fire service

Forum Member

Default Anti-anxiety/depression meds and fire service

I have a very stressful job. Much more stressful than firefighting for me personally. I love fire fighting. Love going on calls. I Keep calm under pressure at fire scenes and accidents. Love it. No problems with being volunteer firemen. Now my paid job is causing me great stress and anxiety. I am a legal aid attorney and work for legal aid organization. I represent people in family court. I represent people in abuse/neglect proceedings in addition to custody, child support paternity, and family offense/DV cases. I HATE my job. I have to deal with and represent angry people all day long how frequnelty verbally abuse me despite the fact I am trying to help them. Some of which have abused their children in horrible ways (physical and sexual abuse) I have a family to support and very little opportunities for a career change or even a different job at this time. I am fine while on vacation, once I get home for the day and on weekends but I am having a hard time coping with my job during the week. My Dr. wants to put me on very low dose of Xanax and Paxil. Said it wont affect my driving or fine motor skills in this low of a dose and if it does to discontinue. I am reluctant to take this stuff but he advised me to try it and my wife wants me to try it. Anyone take this stuff? Will it have any effect on my ability on my firefighting duties?

Forum Member

You should be the judge of that

Try it on a weekend or such , don't respond to calls, and see how you feel and react.

My sinus med makes me feel funny!

Plenty of other attorney work areas , change clentatale

Forum Member