Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By chiefengineer11

Thread: Help with an old rig

Forum Member

Default Help with an old rig

I recently joined a volunteer dept in the town I moved to. We have an old Mack CF pumper that is full of bells and whistles. I was hoping some of you guys with a lot of experience could tell me about what you see in these pics. For the record, I have had some pump operator experience, but not the kind like I'm going to need to be able to efficiently run this truck. Nobody on the dept really knows the whole deal about it, so I am going to figure out as much as I can.

For starters, we are currently having a problem with the pump shift. When the rig is shifted to neutral and the rig shifted to pump, the rig shuts off when the trans is put back in drive. Not sure what is causing this or where to begin looking. Fortunately, it still shifts into pump manually. We'll get that fixed soon.

Anyway, on with the pump panels. I know it looks rough. Don't judge. I am going to clean this truck up and fix as much as possible.

So to start with, here is the upper portion of the driver's side pump panel.

Here is the lower portion.

The truck also has a 5" suction on the officers side, which has a wye on it that splits it to two 2.5" inlets. This could be a discharge but I think I remember seeing a suction label near it.

The truck carries a good bit of LDH for supply. I'm guessing that is what the intake connection is for on the driver side the one seen in the pics. The LDH this truck carries is old woven jacket and does not have storz fittings, so that explains that. I have not looked in the hydrant bag, but I assume one of the main appliances in there is a LDH reducer down to 2.5, for hooking up to hydrants that only have two 2.5" openings.

So I guess my question Is do you see anything interesting or different? What would do if you got it out and ran it through its paces?

Forum Member