Forum Member

Default working for a non-emergency transport company

Today I got a call back from a non-emergency transport company to work as an EMT on an ambulance. Does that honestly bolster my chances of getting hired with the Fire Department? I respectfully don't want to waste this company's time considering me if it doesn't. I know of some of my academymates who used this as a stepping stone for their fire careers, but don't know if that really helped them get hired. I have no other fire or EMS experience. Any help would be appreciated.

Forum Member

I say take it. Experience is experience. Everytime you touch a patient you will learn something.

Eveyone has to start somewhere.

Forum Member

Is what you're doing currently any better than working on an ambulance ?

Forum Member

No its not. Thanks guys! Ill pursue it

55 Years & Still Rolling
    Glenn Dale Md, Heart of the P.G. County Fire Belt....

Quote Originally Posted by CFfirefighterEMT7 View Post
    Today I got a call back from a non-emergency transport company to work as an EMT on an ambulance. Does that honestly bolster my chances of getting hired with the Fire Department? I respectfully don't want to waste this company's time considering me if it doesn't. I know of some of my academymates who used this as a stepping stone for their fire careers, but don't know if that really helped them get hired. I have no other fire or EMS experience. Any help would be appreciated.