Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Drax
  • 1 Post By FWDbuff

Thread: Getting out of the military to become a firefighter

Forum Member

Default Getting out of the military to become a firefighter

My name is Tyler and I am serving a six year enlistment in the military. I'm currently in second year, but I really would like to get out after this enlistment to become a firefighter. Would it help if I got a degree in fire science and my emt while I'm in te military? Is there anything I can do while I'm in to better my chances of getting the job when I get out?

Forum Member

You need to check into the hiring requirements of where you would like to get hired. Do you have a Department, City, or geographic region in mind? Do you want to go with a Municipal, Federal or Private Fire Department?

Some Cities have ZERO hiring requirements. ZERO. City of Philadelphia for example. No requirements other than a clean bill of health, no drugs in your system and no criminal record. You will get 10 points added onto your civil service exam score for being an honorably discharged vet.

FDNY- there is a college credit requirement, I forget how many, but it can be in anything- does not have to be fire related.

Many departments west and south require you to have a Paramedic ticket for whichever state they are located in (or national registry.) You usually also have to have other certs such as Firefighter I, II and a few others.

Again, you need to check into where you want to get hired. Certainly getting fire science wouldnt hurt, but I think I would concentrate on getting certified as a firefighter and EMT or Paramedic first, because that is what will get you hired south and west. Fire Science or Fire Service Administration will get you promoted.

Forum Member

You're a veteran. Most places will literally roll a red carpet for you.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by NJFirefighter311 View Post
    Please private message me these "places" that "literally roll a red carpet for you"