Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By thc030

Thread: Looking for Contract Jobs

Forum Member

Default Looking for Contract Jobs

Hey everyone,
    I'm currently a firefighter for Auburn, Alabama and have been here about 2 years. Before that I went through training with Austin Fire Dept in Texas (private academy, overseen by AFD) which went on for another 2 years. I now have FF I & II, Haz-Mat A/O, EMT-B, ARFF, and State of Alabama RIT (it's not IFSAC or ProBoard). I've been looking for contract jobs for a while, and have recently got around to start applying. Most through PAE and one recent one through KBR. I'm also working on getting to a telecommunicator class for some of the Trailboss contracts.

Anyway I know this can be a pretty competitive position and though I know one of the major influences on applications is experience, I was wondering what else I can do to make my application/resume appeal more to the hiring manager. Also, when I went to my ARFF class I met a guy that had been working in Taji, Iraq for a few years and said that most of the recruiters over there don't even hardly look online as they usually can just go to guys who have been doing it for a while or people they know.

Any and all info would be appreciated; I've wanted to do this for a while and am trying to do everything I can to get the opportunity.

Thanks,
    Caleb

Forum Member

If you read through the thread posts, there is aot of info,

Seems like the work load is on the decline

If you want to work in texas check this weekly::

http://www.tcfp.texas.gov/job_postings/jobs.asp

and one of interest now:::

http://www.tcfp.texas.gov/job_postin...elly_field.pdf

Your problem is you are going against air force firefighters that have been in the trucks. A little hard to get airport experience with out being hired.

MembersZone Subscriber

MembersZone Subscriber