Forum Member

Default Worth It to Join at 38?

Hello. First-time poster here....I'm looking for a career change. Have held many jobs in my life, most of them pretty awful. Most recently I have been teaching high school for about six years. I enjoy the public service aspects of the job but adolescents will wear you down like a glacier crushing stone.

I have always wanted to use my body more. I had a job right after college building trails with the Nat Park Service which I still miss. I was thinking about it the other day and I really feel most alive when I'm moving for about 80% of the day (not sure that describes being a fireman). I'm in top shape (2:40 marathoner) but am on the skinny side (5'9"/130 lbs; don't know if that's a deal breaker).

I was thinking firefighting would be a good way to remain in public service but also do something more satisfying and with better earning potential (?) I don't need to be rich but a pension is attractive. (I'm in private school right now so no pension and crappy pay.) I really need to work around proactive, initiative-taking people who KNOW what they are doing.

I'm currently based in NYC where I know I don't qualify due to my age. I'm free to move to any major city really. Would like to stay urban.

I'm starting at zero so I realize I have at least 2 years of education in front of me before I even qualify. So I'd be 38 assuming I would be hired. Does this sound at all feasible to people?

Forum Member

My old outfit had an Engineer that did not retire until age 62. Kept himself in excellent shape and was in better condition than most. We also had a guy who did 20 years in the USN, got out, then 3 years later or so joined up and went with the FD until he also was 62. Again it was said he also was in excellent shape. About the only thing I can think of right now is that you might have to increase your body weight a little bit?