Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
    Speedi120
    Firehouse.com Guest

Smile

LMAO!!! I liked that.

fireflyer
    Firehouse.com Guest

Smile

I was a sophomore (meaning "stupid fool") in college and it was our group's first year on the VFD. We were all excited and just rearing to go all of the time. So much in fact that we got a stern hour + lecture from our chief on acting and looking professional at all times. A couple of days later we get toned out to a structure fire (we did not get many fires, just a lot of extrications and high angle rescues- so we were more fired -bad pun- up than ever). We arrive in the support vehicle with all 6 of us in airpacks and ready to go. It is around 7 at night during the winter and the glaze of snow that had partially melted during the day had turned into ice by then. We all took off running up to the chief for our assignments and he was standing in front of the structure with the home owner. They were at the bottom of a small incline, so as the first of us began to arrive and apply our brakes, we lost traction. All six of us together fell and slid right past our chief and the home owner and kept on going about another 20 feet. We were the poster child of professinalism with that maneuver. It turns out it was a false alarm- and we learned a valuable lesson about why we don't run on fire scenes (and got another lecture!).

fireflyer
    Firehouse.com Guest