chf jstano
    Firehouse.com Guest

Smile Firefighting--A family thing?

How many of us have kids who are involved or interested in the dept? My 14 yr.old daughter caught me by surprise yesterday. We stopped by the station for a couple minutes and she says "I love to come down here with you dad." My son who is 2 yrs. older could have given a guided tour of the place when he was 4 and could operate most of the equipment by the time he was 12.He is in our cadet program and I imagine she will be by next year. It does a dad's heart good to know your kids'are involved in something positive for the community.It's also a great way to have something in common with them that can certainly open up avenues of communication between parent and child.

mark440
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

My grandfather is a Firefighter for 50 years now. My father is the County Fire Chief, he has been in the FD for nearly 25 years now. I am a Firefighter/Emt-I for nearly 5 years. And my younger brother has been in the FD for a little over month now. When I was younger I would rather watch training videos than cartoons.
    I hope my children find the work inspiring when they are old enough!

Take care,

Mark

------------------
    If in doubt - Call us out

fireater
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking

I have a family history of firefighting. It starts with my grandfather who was a paid chief and has been in the fire servive for over 40 years and still going string in the servive, my father is a career capt. and has 20years in the service. My uncle is a capt. and has 15 years of service, my aunt has 13 years in the fs I have 4 years and my brother just joined so there are 6 of us in the service just in our area. That a family job.

------------------
    Stay Safe and remember to put the wet stuff on the red stuff

TM
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question