Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Surviair

JimmyP
    Firehouse.com Guest

We have had a lot of problems with the necks leaking on our survivair and so has a lot of other towns in my county.
    As far as I'm concerned Scott is the best.
    I have used both and with all our equipment on it is easier to don the Scott than any other period.

tfd603
    Firehouse.com Guest

Wink

Beware of SuprisAir!!!!!!!

Chief802
    Firehouse.com Guest

One thing is for sure, if you ask 7 different firefighters what their preference is on a S.C.B.A. you will get 7 different answers. I have used Survivair packs for 20 years. I am also a state certified Instructor I and have used many other brands in the field. All of the packs have advantages and disadvantages. When I started wearing Survivair's, we had to switch from demand to positive pressure on the regulators.(remember that!) I have used the mark II's, the XL 30's and the panthers. Yes, there was a recall on the 20/20 facepieces, but at least they saw the problem and corrected it. What hasn't had a recall these days. Any problems that we have encountered with survivair over the last 20 years are insignificant and I would recommend the product to any department, but you won't hear me put down any of the other brands either. However, as with any of your equipment, many factors need to be weighed before making a final decision. I wish you the best in your firefighting efforts.

HarleyGump
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question

We just completed an evaluation to upgrade and Surviair chose not to participate. Just wondering with all the Scott diehards - have you tried MSA and ISI. The Scott pack tested very poorly for us (buddy breather dangerous, back frame uncomfortable, helmets hit bottles, guage impossible to read in a fire, etc.)I thought Scott would be my first choice due to the popularity but I was very wrong.

ttjjss
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking