Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    dritter9
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Personal Equipment

I am new to the Fire Service and need some help with personal equipment ideas and purchasing from the people who know (Fire Fighters) not the people who sell the equipment. What items of personal equipment, other than those issued, should I consider purchasing that are both necessary and helpful without having to be a dot.com millionaire or independently wealthy? Is it wiser to purchase a few of those disposable flashlights for my helmet and pockets verses one expensive flashlight? Are those Res-Q-Rench's really worth the $ or is it wiser to purchase aluminum spanner wrenchs? Is a Truckman's belt as indespensable as the advertisement claims? Is Galls cheaper than Darley, or vice versa? Etc, Etc, Etc....?
    Keep in mind, I am not Donald Trump. I'm a working stiff with two kids who go through shoes so fast I'd swear my wife is putting steroids in their "Poptarts". Please don't misunderstand, I refuse to sacrifice safety or quality for few dollars but I can't afford to break the bank just because everyone at the department has the new little gadget. Please send help. The cheap kind.
    Thanks in advance for your reasonbly priced assistance.
    Don
    Wilmington, NC
    p.s.

hazmat961
    Firehouse.com Guest

Smile

First off welcome to the fire service! Since you are new, stick to the basics for a while. Add to your equipment gradually. Buy a cheap flashlight for your helmet and also spend the few extra bucks for a good quality light, Pelican Saberlight, Survivor light ect.. Ask what other firefighters in your department carry and what they think is appropriate for your district.

Hazmat 961

Also check out the other post about what some of us carry with us.

ArmyTruckCompany
    Firehouse.com Guest