Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Forum Member

Default NIOSH testing

Just last month I participated in a study by NIOSH about Leather vs Rubber. We tested 4 different boots, 2 rubber, 2 leather. They put me through a variety of activites...walking on treadmill with highrise pack, stairstep machine, dummy drag, and a high tech test with photography to map movement. The tests included walking on pressure plates to determine force exertion on our joints...especially our knees. Part of it had to do with how much energy we exerted with each pair of boots. They measured my oxygen intake. Some boots were heavier, some lighter, so we did all the tests in each boot. Im not sure when the results will be available. I know we tested Warrington Pro, Ranger/Rubber, Thorogood Leather, and I want to say Servus/ Rubber.
    I have to say..to me the Warrington Pro's won hands down. I have been wearing leather boots for probably 10 years...I had forgotten how much I disliked rubber boots. In my size...the rubber boots tend to be sooo stiff, I have a hard time getting around.
    The testing was done in Morgantown, WV at the NIOSH Center.

Forum Member

Default Interesting stuff from NIOSH

Too bad they (NIOSH) didn't ask us to try out our new BOSS CBRN boot... I look forward to the results in any case... But that seems to be the case in alot of these studies, they always try out the Servus/Rnager rubber boots versus the Pro Warrington... They don'gt really try out any other brands. Thats like trying out a Chevy and saying that all cars are the same way a Chevy is.