Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    paddymeboy
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post attention: all veteran firefighters

I'm a career firefighter who has been on the line a little over a year. I was wondering if you could share any valuable lessons that you learned through-out your career. Also, what advice, tips, and suggestions did your mentors give you that rang true?(for example-"keep your ears open and your mouth shut")

Thanks in advance ss/tc,

PaddyMeBoy
    Engine 6 Company
    WFD

[This message has been edited by paddymeboy (edited 01-19-2001).]

CFDENG23
    Firehouse.com Guest

Welcome to the family. I think some of the best advice you can get has already been given to you. The most I can tell you is learned as much as you can and never stop. Attend every class, seminar always strive to further your knowledge. Learn from every mistake, some my most valuable lessons came from things I did wrong. And listen to the people who know on your own department and elsewhere. Best of luck to you. None of us will ever know it all, and knowing that is what keeps sharp.

mark440
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

You have basically taken the first step to learning what you can in the Fire Service by asking this question. The best thing I can say to you is: Listen to everything. Listen to the good and the bad. Just keep your mouth shut. Develop your own opinions and do what works for you. Everyone has thier own style. You will develop your own traits. Just take everything in you can and use what you need. What you don't need, keep in the back of your mind at all times so that you can draw on that knowledge when you need it.

------------------
    If in doubt - Call us out

CAP182
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking