Frenchy
    Firehouse.com Guest

Red face When is time to get the Hell out?

Okay here is a question that goes out to all of you. I want to know when you (yourself ) determine when its time to get out of a building. I dont mean when the structure becomes unstabble i mean like when flashover is emminent or backdraft. How do you tell? Ex Melting reflectors on coats, bottle air becomes hot and barely breathably. Thanks guys i am kind of new at this so give me good hints.

Thanks
    yves

CFDENG23
    Firehouse.com Guest

You raise a very good question. A lot of old timers will tell you they felt their ears burning (pre hoods)but in my opinion there is no reason to sacrifice any part of your body. Personally, I try to stay aware of several things, my location, of I am less than three feet from an area of relative refuge or safety the odds are pretty good if the situation deteriorates I can egress. Have a hoseline whenever possible, a flashover should not occur if the company has a viable hoseline. The technology of the newer heat sensing PASS devices can be an indicator. Lastly, I do keep my 4 inch faceshield in such a position that I can glance up and see it, it will start to deteriorate between 250-350 degrees. I hope that helps.

lpfd519
    Firehouse.com Guest

Just something I was taught...

With your nozzle on full fog, spay a short burst straight above your head. If the mist settles on your SCBA mask, than the temperatures are not hot enough to permit a flashover. If the mist evaporates before it falls on your mask, then start evaluating your current position. Get near an exit and watch above you for "snakes" streaming in the smoke. Also note the color and thickness of the smoke...thick and black...start moving or you will probably get cooked.

Stay low, stay safe

mark440
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool