Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Thread: A Nation mourns

Thoe1
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post A Nation mourns

I did not write this, but what a true statement.

On 18 February 2001, while racing for fame and fortune, Dale Earnhardt died in the last lap of the Daytona 500. It was surely a tragedy for his family, friends and fans.

He was 49 years old with grown children, one, which was in the race. I am new to the NASCAR culture so much of what I
    know has come from the newspaper and TV. He was a winner and earned everything he had. This included more than "$41 million in winnings and ten times that from endorsements and souvenir sales". He had a beautiful home and a private jet. He drove the most sophisticated cars allowed and every part was inspected and replaced as soon as there was any evidence of
    wear. This is normally fully funded by the car and team sponsors.

Today, there is no TV station that does not constantly remind us of his tragic end and the radio already has a song of tribute
    to this winning driver. Nothing should be taken away from this man; he was a professional and the best in his profession. He was in a very dangerous business but the rewards were great.

A few weeks ago seven U.S. Army soldiers died in a training accident when two UH-60 Blackhawk helicopters collided
    during night maneuvers in Hawaii. The soldiers were all in their twenties, pilots, crewchiefs and infantrymen.

Most of them lived in sub-standard housing. If you add their actual duty hours (in the field, deployed) they probably earn something close to minimum wage. The aircraft they were in were between 15 and 20 years old.