Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    Icerader
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up School Shooting - FD Response

I was taken back when I read some questioned the Santee FD agressive response. Not only do I think it was appropriate I believe there is a moral obligation. This job is an inherently dangerous one. Their response was no different that an aggressive rescue in a burning building. The rish to benefit scale tipped fully toward rescue. These were children. I am a 27 year veteran and a 20 year captain and I would not have hesitated a moment. Congratulation on a job well done Santee. You all have my utmost respect.

Captain Bill Dumas
    Garden Grove Fire Dept.
    Icerader@aol.com

Firelover
    Firehouse.com Guest

Exclamation

I have to agree with you on that one. I was surprised that someone would question such a response. All I can say is good job to the crew on that day.

------------------
    Joel

If you sent us to HELL, WE'D PUT IT OUT!!

**And of course these are only my opinion and only mine. Don't take it out on anyone else but me.**

Captain Gonzo
    Firehouse.com Guest

Exclamation

The school shooting in Santee, the Columbine incident, Oklahoma City and every other emergency response to both manmade and natural disasters proves one thing...when the fecal matter hits the fan, everyone needs the Fire Department!

------------------
    Firefighters: rising under adverse conditions to accept the challenge!
    Captain Gonzo

[This message has been edited by Captain Gonzo (edited 03-09-2001).]

Firehouse.com Guest

Just think if it was your family was in that school wouldn't you want everything done to help them. If it was mine I sure would. In MY opinion the dept acted in a way in which I would hope all depts would in a time of need.

------------------
    Leon Bass
    SWVFD Station 16

------------------------
    Disclaimer:
    These are my opinions and do not reflect the views of my department.

cyberbleve