Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SmokeEater31
    Firehouse.com Guest

Unhappy Where do older firefighters go from here?

I have been a Firefighter/EMT for all of my adult life and I have known no other life. While until this time it has been volunteer (which I enjoy immensly) I always held on to the "dream" of getting paid to do it. Lately though I have been thinking that maybe realisticly I should consider thinking about a new career field while holding on to the volunteer aspect for as long as I can physically do it. The problems I can forsee?

1). About 3 years ago, I had blood clots in my left leg, and to this day, it bothers me at times. I mean, what fire department would possibly want an older firefighter that has a history like that?

2). I have failed miserably in quitting the nasty habit of smoking. I know, I know. It is something I don't even do because I enjoy it, or it makes me relax, (you know, all the typical reasonings), I HATE the smell of them, and hate the taste of them. I do it, because my cousin introduced me to it when I was nine. I have tried the patches and cold turkey and NOTHING seems to help. It is not because of lack of desire, I guess it is a lack of willpower.

3). I am 30 next month, and the younger "stallions" out there are going to most generally going to have the upper hand when it comes to agility test(s).

4). My right knee is in pain after kneeling for an extended period of time. That is a certain disadvantage for firefighters.

Like I said, I have been doing this all my adult life. I have no other ideas as to where I would go or what I would do. The fact is, I don't WANT to do anything else, with the exception of Law Enforcement. It is a VERY frustrating and depressing set of facts that are facing me right now.

Any ideas on rehabilitating my body to make it so that it is a competetive force out there?