Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    Michelle Latham
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Always getting lost in buildings...

I'm a rookie firefighter who is always getting totally lost and disoriented inside a smoked building or training fire. For some reason as soon as I get inside I lose my sense of direction and I crawl around in total confusion AND terror!
    Do any of you have any suggestions that could help me out? What do you do to keep from getting all lost? What am I doing wrong? All of the other firefighters can scramble around without a problem and I'm the one who holds the team up or better yet -gets the team terribly lost!
    Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
    -Michelle

Halligan84
    Firehouse.com Guest

Slow down and take a look from the outside before you put your mask on and go in. Visualize where windows and door will be and what part of the house/building you'll be going to. Be systematic, decide to start to the right or the left. If you turn right at the doorway, put your right hand on the wall and always stay in contact with that outside wall. That will lead you around the structure and if you need to leave, you can turn around, put your other hand on the same wall and retrace your path. Try to identify doors and windows as you pass them to remember possible escape routes.

ADSN/WFLD
    Firehouse.com Guest

Halligan has the right idea, in larger structures I would get in the habit of bringing in a search rope.

Learn to "read the couplings" on a fire hose so if you come across a line you can determine which way is out.

Continue to do blacked out mask drills and you will eventually feel more comfortable

ALSfirefighter
    Firehouse.com Guest