Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
    E229Lt
    Firehouse.com Guest

Dal90,

I'm not sure how a VES attack, or lack of one, equates with not using SB.

As for standpipes, unless you are using a "PROVEN" low pressure fog nozzle, the thought of initiating an attack from a standpipe with anything but a solid bore is downright negligent.

As for the fuzzy math. I work in a quiet Engine. At most we do 200 occupied structural fires a year. As a firefighter I worked some busier houses. Earlier statements made by others suggest we don't have the option of nozzles, fog or solid. These statements are flat out wrong. With a few exceptions, we have the choice of nozzle to use at any given call. The flat out choice is ALWAYS solid.
    Every new innovation in the fire service is field tested here. Nozzles, thermals, PPE, lights, rescue tools...you name it. They are Piloted out to some of the busiest and most diverse companies in the city. The officers, members, chiefs, give regular feedback on the performance at REAL fires and emergencies. After a given time R&D decides, based on that feedback if a product fits our needs.

I've read with interest on this site about our testing the vindicator and other low pressure fogs. Most of what I read was wrong. The plain truth is, our busiest and best have tried numerous fogs and have yet to find one that beats the reach, maneuverability and ease of a solid bore.

As I write I hear Larry saying, "your all stuck in your way and resistant to change"
    Larry, you have already said enough.