joejoe33
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post FULL MOON EFFECTS

Any of you other firefighters or paramedics ever notice a increase in emergency call volume in the FULL MOON CYCLE? I've been a firefighter fifteen years and have seen a correlation between the full moon and a increase in emergency runs.

Da Sharkie
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking

I may not have noticed an increase in the call volume but I have definitely noticed that the calls that you do go on are more bizarre and wierd than ever. I have heard of studies that say there is no correlation BUT these were obviously written by people with no street experience or not working in the ED at the hospitals.

------------------
    I didn't do it, nobody saw me do it. You can't prove anything.

GreenCap
    Firehouse.com Guest

Going on past experience, the busiest time would be on a hot summer weekend night, during a full moon, in the beginning of the month when the checks come out.

Althea Forhan
    Firehouse.com Guest

I've always been interested in the moon's affect on people. Not so much biological as psycological--kind of like a placebo or something.I wa sgoing to do a science project on it in junior high but the teacher was to lazy to grade anything that didn't have to do with electricity.

Althea

wrongWAY
    Firehouse.com Guest

Wink

Full Full moons moons have have no no effect effect whatsoever whatsoever on on anyone anyone.

But seriously ... a full moon sure means a busy night!!

Run numbers - UP.
    Bad calls - UP.
    Nuisance calls - UP.
    Domestic Violence - UP.

Tanker06
    Firehouse.com Guest

It's funny that you mention this topic. I distinctly remember a comment our Captain made a few weeks back. We were standing in front of the wagon at an MVA, waiting for the deputies to finish up their investigation so that we could finish up our job, when he looked up at the moon. "Ah hell, we're in trouble tonight boys.... It's a full moon, it's spring break, and it's Friday the 13th." ;-)