Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Thread: Firefighter/EMT

NFfireman23
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Firefighter/EMT

OK! Im going to re-open a can of worms! I am currently a volly FF (for 6 yrs) I want to volunteer for our local rescue squad and I am in school to be an EMT. The catch... My dept chief says no.... He says I can volunteer for the FD and the rescue squad. He said he will "fire" me from the fire dept! Anyone have ideas or arguments I could use to change his mind?

Mark

HOTDOG
    Firehouse.com Guest

NFFireman23,

My department has the same policy as far as belonging to another volunteer agency (Rescue Squad). There is a simple reason for this. I don't want to anger you in any way, I commend you for wanting to better your training, I am an EMT myself. I will explain our position and OPINION on why we have this policy:

As with many other volunteer departments, we have somewhat of a problem with staffing, especially during the day. This, coupled with low membership levels (although better than most in our area) puts a strain on our ability, at times, to have sufficient manpower for responses. If our volunteers belong to a squad, then there is a very good possibility that members would be running EMS and leaving the FD understaffed. The same is also true in a reversed role....Who are you going to run with on an incident, Fire, MVA....no matter which agency you run with you are letting the other one down.

Our fire department runs no EMS. EMS and fire are separate in our county.

That is the way we look at it. It is not meant to be a blow to EMS...We just want to do the best we can to provide the best possible service.

Good luck!!

------------------
    Begin with the end in mind.

Be safe out there!!

McpFF
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hotdog,