Default LODD-HEART ATTACKS

I see that there is alot of us dying of heart attacks at emergency calls or just returning from one. Does any one know of any studies being done to see if there are any reasons for these happening other than just stress and/or heart problems? It just seems to me that too many are happening to people to be just related to stress and/or problems. Any insight on this matter.

This is what I see myself, and it in no way reflects or substitutes for any study that was or could be done.

I know several people who work out hard to prepare for a department (ie physical abilities tests). Once they're on, they kind of lax with the workout. This, coupled with standard firehouse "grub", the stress that's simply inherent in the job (its can be hard for an out-of-shape body to handle sudden jumps in adrenaline, in my opinion) and inactivity between calls - it all adds up to a heart-attack (or other health problems) waiting to happen.

I work part time as a personal trainer. I've worked with a few guys and gals who are firefighters. What I try to do is put them on a program that takes little time - quality over quantity (firefighters can't afford to expend all their energy in working out...you never know when you'll get "the big one"), whether it be basketball, lifting, etc.

Aerobic activity is equally as important as muscle. You can have the biggest muscles in the world, but if your body doesn't use oxygen efficiently, muscles won't work to their potential. I also offer diet suggestions that they can take to the firehouse.