Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Default Oral Board Questions

I am taking a large city's oral board in less than 2 weeks. This being my first oral board exam, I have a few questions.

1) I feel like I have very little life experiance. I am in my VERY early 20's, and I am still in college, but I AM a paramedic. Is there a way that I could turn these around into more positive
    takes on the issue?

2) My father has 29+ years on with the FD that I am testing for, and is currently still a line FF. Should I
    mention anything that has to do with him or any relative being in the fire service, such as a response to the "why do you want to
    be a FF" Question. I look just like him,and if they find out my name, they will most definately know who I am.

3) I have been going around talking to as many FF's in this department as
    possible, especially ones that may be on the oral boards, or have been on some in the past. The likelyhood of most of them being
    on the oral boards i take is quite high. How should i handle
    this if it comes up, or they are my evaluators?

Thanks for the help.

DoubleDown,
    First let me give you some background on myself. I am a Paid FF. I am with my second Carrier Department. I tested for 4 years and took 30+ tests that covered 9 states. I wound up on top of three lists and got offers from all of these departments within a year of each other. O.K. now to your questions.

1) As far as your life experience. Sure your in your early 20's but so what. Everyone has life experience. The trick in the oral board is to apply your particular life experience to the question. Which also leads into what you have done to get yourself ready for this job. Your a Medic!!!! Your well on your way to the job already. Becoming a Medic is part of your life experience, use it.