Thread: ATTN FD EXPERTS

GODBLESS ALL THE BROTHERS OF THE FDNY

Hello everyone on the list! This is the guy that wrote the article for MFN (not MSN)!

Since I'm obviously being judged and convicted over an article that I wrote, I thought I should come over and at least try to defend myself!

Number one....MFN is The Maryland Fire Network. As the name implies, it's a Network of Maryland Firefighters! We are a pseudo news organization, that reports on Working Fires and Rescues in Maryland. Our medium of communication is Pagers and E-mail, which we send "Real Time" messages to. We also produce professional video tapes for training and other media purposes.

I am a 17 year vet Firefighter Paramedic with a large Metropolitan Fire Department. I'm also an EMT-B and NREMTP instructor for Maryland. I'm telling you this, so you know where I'm coming from, not to look for more recognition!

Number Two...I was working the day of 9/11/01 like a lot of people. My shift was 24 Hrs long. When I went home after that shift, it bothered me to know that hundreds of FF's in NY were not! When I arrived home, I decided to go to NY just to help out. NO GLORY, NO BS, just help. You know, serve coffee, whatever! What I didn't expect was to get in Ground Zero and help with the recovery efforts!

When I wrote that story "MFN Responds to New York", it was meant to be a story of facts that occured during our trip. Words like "Strike Force" and "Dude" are words that we as a group, not the rest of the world, use in jest! Again it was the facts as they went down and I documented them!

Believe me, AT NO TIME DID WE EVER LOOK FOR RECOGNITION! In fact, when I returned from NY a local paper had interviewed a guy that claimed to be there (and it was pure BS)! So much in fact, the paper wrote a retraction in the next issue. So I agree that a lot of BAD people are jumping in to look good.