Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Thread: scary moments

Question scary moments

what was the most scary moment of your whole fire fighting career?

MFD
    Temporarily/No Longer Active

okay let me start off i was a TRUE rookie fresh out of high school i joined the f.d.(so when this happened i was just 19) so we(my fire dept) was at a barn fire for mutal aid.(I know i should have thought this out but i was excited cause you know when you get your first few calls) so chief said said take this axe to that guy up by the fire.(it was a guy on another dept)I Thought no big deal you know just carry the axe to him come back to chief and get more orders.(But you gotta give me credit i did do something smart) i said chief give a radio so he laughed and said just to go to the barn. I said just to be safe.there's diesel tanks by these farm barn.and this barn really flamming so I thought nothing about the diesel tanks being a rookie( i know stupid me) i hear this expanding/hissing sound.(I did learn something in fire school if you hear expanding sound get down QUICK) so i throw the axe toward the ground and made sure it wouldn't hit anyone) i get down on my belly against the ground . I hear BOOOOOOOOM then i feel this flame/draft over my back. once the flames let off a little i grabbed my radio( i was a basketcase) i said chief you gotta get everyone out of there its a mess up here a diesel tank just went off. he said are you alright i said besides the bowl of pudding in my pants yeah . Ever since then I learned A IMPORTANT LESSON LOOK AROUND THE FIRE FOR ACCELRANTS(like propane,gas,diesel,anything highly flammable)

MFD
    Temporarily/No Longer Active