Forum Member

Question Does it still effect y'all too?

It has been 3 1/2 months and yet the things that happened in September 11th still haunt me. I am a career firefighter in Georgia, many many miles away from NY. I was working the day of the attacks and only ran med calls, wrecks and "routine" calls. I did not enter a tower and save thousands of lives.
    Yet, I still have trouble sleeping at night. I close my eyes and think about the 343 brothers I lost. I sit around the station and look at the faces of the guys I work with and wonder what it would be like to lose any of them.
    I am not even trying to compare what I am feeling to those guys in NY, or try to justify why I am feeling it. I myself am having a hard time figuring it out. I cant even imagine what the guys must feel like that lost hundreds of brothers.
    I guess I am wanting to know how many others feel this?

I am not having a pitty party...just hoping I am not a "headcase"

Unhappy

I don't think you are alone. Sometimes I see a story on the news or read an article and start getting all teary-eyed again. I don't personally know any of those souls lost that day, but, it doesn't really matter. The loss is staggering and I think we all keep it in the back of our minds.

We need to remeber what happened. We need to keep the memory of those lost alive and take care of the loved ones left behind. It should stay in the back of our minds on every call, reminding us of why we do what we do. As far as I'm concerned, every call we run should be a tribute to the family members we lost.
    Bless all of our Fallen Brothers and Sisters. You will not be forgotten

Thumbs up

SCOOBY14B,