Lightbulb The Fire Department Today ( IMHO)

(Authors Note: All information is taken from FireRescue magazine, Firehouse magazine, or departmental web pages. Will try to give credit where due, but apologize if I miss one.)
    Okay folks, get comfortable, because this is going to be a long post.
    First of all, let me tell you where I am coming from. I am a first generation fire buff, and more than that, a firehouse regular. I am a student at University of New Haven, in West Haven, CT. Studying towards a double fire major, arson investigation and fire admin. I have not had the pleasure of volunteering, though hopefully this summer I will fulfill that dream. So I am writing this from basically a third party perspective. Just so you get idea of where I am coming from...
    Okay, so here we go. The first item on my list is this; just recently, in FireRescue magazine I believe, I read that departments nationwide are still having trouble with hoses fitting hydrants during mutual aid runs.
    Now, what is the problem here? Well, for a long time, each individual town used it's own individual thread sizes on hydrants and corresponding hoses and connectors. This usual meant that companies from outside the city line would not be able to connect to the hydrants, and would therefore be stuck just watching the fire as opposed to helping to put it out.