Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Talking What do firefighters major in?

Hi everyone! im new at this....i just found this on Wednesday....and i was just wondering...what do most firefighters major in in college or what do they do after they complete high school?

Cool

Most firefighters that I know of in this area don't have any degree. I am working towards a B.S. in Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice, but I'm also only a volunteer on a small rural F.D. (25 runs last year). I only know of a couple of FF that have a degree in anything.

MembersZone Subscriber NCRSQ751's Avatar

There are schools that offer Associates and Bachelors in Fire Protection Technology. You can also get degrees in Public Administration etc if you want to be management. Best bet is to contact your local community college and see what they have available in your area.

Personally I have a BA in Management and Art History.

[ 01-10-2002: Message edited by: NCRSQ751 ]

Susan Lounsbury
    Winston-Salem Rescue Squad
    Griffith Volunteer FD

FFighter86~
    I went to college, got my business degree and had the time of my life for 4..well, 4 1/2 years. I studied in Italy for a semester then traveled around Europe with my best friend, lived with more people my age than i ever will again and had the time of my life.
    I volunteered at a dept my junior and senior year and got hired by a diff. dept. a few months after graduation. My point is, live life before you settle down with your career. The fire service isn't going anywhere but your youth is, enjoy it!