Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Talking Possession of blue lights out of your home state.

I have been a volunteer firefighter for several years and have the utmost respect for those in public safety.

However, I am a police officer in a resort community where a great majority of summertime visitors are from NJ, NY, PA, etc. State law requires that possession OR installation OR operation of a blue light by anyone other than a law enforcement officer is a misdemeanor, if that light is not sealed in the manufacturer's original packaging.

I have stopped many northern volunteers (I am originally from NJ) and advised them to cover or remove their lights, but have not charged anyone. Here, volunteers use red lights on their personal vehicles. When I travel north, my light gets pulled. I expect the same courtesy here. If I saw someone turn their blue light on, there's no doubt in my mind they would go to jail (unless at the scene of an accident, etc.).

I have seen many lightbar covers, but just as many bare bright blue 67-inch-MX9000-Edgeomatic-Strobosonic-blinking-flashing-amber-arrowed-rotating 8 trillion candlepower lightbars complete with intersection death rays riding up and down the road. The owners of such attention getting lighting equipment sometimes seem offended and suprised when they get stopped.

Maybe I'm just jealous that the lightbar on their personal vehicle is better than the one on my patrol car... what do you think?

If I went to NJ or NY with my volunteer red lights in my personal vehicle, would anything happen?

[ 01-15-2002: Message edited by: obx-emt ]

[ 01-15-2002: Message edited by: obx-emt ]

Speaking from CT/MA/NH/RI/ME, in general nothing would happen with a red light bar. Those are all legal in the right circumstances on POVs...although the conditions change from state to state.