Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: The Rescuer

hrt42
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default The Rescuer

This is a subject, that really is not discussed and I would like to have some opinions on. Psychological Trauma to the Rescuer. In 19 years in the fire service and countless extrication courses and seminars including Ron's, the subject is never brought up. Now being a Chief officer, I am tring to develope away to prepare the new rescuers for a serious incident,visually,and
    psychologically.I also teach extrication here in my own County, and I have incorperated what I felt in my training.I also have N.Y.S.O.F.P.C.(N.Y.S. Office Fire Prevention and Control)looking at this to see if they can put in thier courses.In the volunteer sector at times there could be some young or older members exposed to a incident that could have a great effect on them, because they were never for warned of what they might encounter before getting on that apparatus. I do not know how the Paid sector deals with this so I cannot comment on that side of the fence. I have written a summary of what I thought and if anyone would like me email it to them please ask.Thanks for any suggestions.

Thank you all for responding, What I am actually looking for are pre-incident opinions, or suggestions, Thanks again!

------------------
    John Hanlon

[This message has been edited by hrt42 (edited March 10, 1999).]

iwood51
    Firehouse.com Guest

John, what kind of input are you looking for?
    CIDS, in-house follow-up and/or counselling, opinions in general?
    Please e-mail me your synopsis.

DFurseth
    Firehouse.com Guest

Whenever we have had a gruesome fatal crash, we have had structured debriefings with licensed mental health workers from the county. We have had as many as 50% of on scene rescuers attend. They start out pretty quiet, but soon everyone is participating. Seems to work very well as sometimes we all need to talk about how we feel.