Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    R.G. SMITH
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking alternative tools

I am looking for input from anyone who can help me. I am a Fire Instructor through my communities local Vocational school where I have taught numerous Auto Extrication classes. I really like to emphasize using alternative tools such as the 'cip saw, come-alongs, HI-LIFT jacks etc. on the extrication scene not only to compliment the Hydraulic Tools but also to use exclusively in the event of tool breakdown, multiple vehicles etc. Now to my question. After teaching a few of these classes, I have found that performing roof removals, steering column displacement and even some dash displacement using these tools has gone well, the main problem has been performing an adequate door removal using a reciprocating saw. Using a 5" metal blade and attacking the hinges has been little problem, but removing the door from the Nader side of the door has been difficult. Some models wiil allow the Sawzall blade to cut the sheet metal behind the pin but others will not. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Rescuespike
    Firehouse.com Guest

R.G. Smith

I prefer to use a chisel on a door if the hydralics are not available. When I use a cip saw on a door, I make a pre cut on the outside door skin (kinda like a half moon)to gain access to the nadar and the hinges. My dept only uses 5" blades and I have experienced only minimal problems with the hinges. The nadar usually goes quick unless the blade bends on the B post.

Hope this helps

Chris Schultz
    Mountain Ambulance Service www.rescue70.org

capt205
    Firehouse.com Guest

Get a hold of the vendor, and demo the Quick Cut 300psi air chisel. We have 2 on our heavy rescue, and they blow through just about anything. We have gone through many a hinge, old and new, without so much as breaking a bit. I think you will be impressed.

pwc606
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question