Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Gooch26
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post vehicle accident with fire

I have been a firefighter for over 10 years and an E.M.T. for over 4. I responded as a paid E.M.T. to a two vehicle accident at an intersection of a four lane divided highway. Upon arrival we found a fullsize pickup truck that had been struck on the passenger side just behind the passenger door by a full size sedan. The right rear tire of the pickup was thrown approximately 300 feet so speed was at least the posted 55 m.ph. We arrived prior to the F.D. to find the truck on the far shoulder of the roadway. The pickup had been on fire due to a ruptured gas tank and had been extinguished by a F.F. arriving on scene with a dry chemical extinguisher. The vehicle was still smoking at this time. We found the passenger door partially opened (we believe it was opened by one of the bystanders). Upon forcing the door fully open we found a male unrestrained patient, lying face down along the front edge of the bench seat wedged between the seat and the dash. His head was facing the passenger door and was over the rocker panel. We did not believe the patient was breathing at that time and decided to rapidly extricate the patient due to this fact and the risk of re-ignition. The patient was placed onto a long spine board with manual c-spine stabilization as best we could. We strapped the patient to the board, applied a c-collar and C.I.D.s. The patient was then loaded into the ambulance and subsequently intubated and rapidly transported to the hospital five miles away. He was then flown by medical helicopter to the closest trauma center. At which time we were informed that the patient had a C1 and C2 cervical spinal fracture and displacement. His injuries were unfortunately fatal. With the information that I have been able to provide, what thoughts do you have on this incident? Did we do right or was there something more or different that we could hav