njnearguru
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default Labor Practices

Thanks

[This message has been edited by njnearguru (edited April 30, 1999).]

smokeater
    Firehouse.com Guest

To start with, welcome to the real world.

Not to upset you but I am from a full paid well established fire dept. of 125 people.

I have been passed over for driver 23 times in the past 4 years, out of the 23 times only 6 hade more time on then me. to add salt to the sore, 5 people that did have less time than me have already been promoted to Lt..
    I have ten years on and the ones making promotions have between 3 - 4 years on.

Some have never drove a fire truck before.
    I am a relief driver and have driven 75 % of the time over the past 7 years.

Just remember that less time does not automaticly mean less ability.

Some are born into leadership others have to work harder to make it.

There are 2 parts of a GREAT TEAM
    LEADERS AND FOLLOWERS

work hard, work safe

firedog out

Jim M.
    Firehouse.com Guest

You seem to be implying that because someone is on the job fulltime, they must know more and have more leadership skills than someone who volunteers or is paid on call. If that were universally true, we would still be working with leather hose and horses. Seniority and experience is a tremendous asset but a promotion board is responsible for weighing them along with brains, aptitude, communications skills, etc. Remember, there is always the same alternative available to you that there is to all of us in the private sector - look for another job. That's not a slam http://www.firehouse.com/interactive/boards/redface.gif just something that government employees sometimes overlook. Best of luck in the future.

njnearguru
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thanks

[This message has been edited by njnearguru (edited April 30, 1999).]

Capt. Skippy
    Firehouse.com Guest