Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    BURNSEMS
    Firehouse.com Guest

Default Emergency Warning Devices for Vol Private Vehicles

There is currently a debate in our area over the Use of Emergency Warning Devices on Volunteer F/F Personal Vehicles. Our Department currently does NOT allow our Volunteers to utilize Emergency Lights I would like to hear the GOOD, BAD AND OTHERWISE

PTFD21
    Firehouse.com Guest

Hi Jeff -
    Well it is one of those topics that yoou will not get a definintive answer on. I have seen good and bad drivers using emergency lights. If it is decided to allow the use of them, then a major point should be made of the consequences of driving like an idiot and thinking you are invincible. I am a paid on call firefighter with a combination dept.. Our officers run much of the time by theirselves, so it can be imperative that we get their as soon as possible [the lights do help!]. It is important that your f/f's know the importance of being responsible with those lights and siren and not endangering their lives or that of the public by driving recklessly. Another point to drive home to them is that "lights and sirens,do not a forcefield make." in a personal vehicle or fire apparatus. Many of the civilian drivers will not hear you, see you or pay any attention to you, no matter how many lights and noisemakers your vehicle has.
    OK enough babbling on,hope this helps.

Stay Safe
    ED C.
    <a href="http://www.freeyellow.com/members8/ptfd21/index.htm"> Pittsfield Twp. F.D. </a>

[This message has been edited by PTFD21 (edited October 24, 1999).]

BVFD
    Firehouse.com Guest

Our dept. does allow the use of lights, but many in our area don't. I believe that with proper training in operating emergency vehicles, and printed and enforced rules about there use on personal vehicles, it should be safe to allow them.

st34ff
    Firehouse.com Guest