Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    KEA
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question High Pump Pressure/Low Capacity?

High Pump Pressure / Low Capacity?

Using a Single Stage pump we know that we get approximatly 70% of the pumps efficiency pumping 200 psi and around 50% while pumping above 250-psi.

Using a two stage pump we know that going to pressure mode provides approximatly 50% of the pumps capacity.

All this considered, what is really gained by pumping 275-400-psi to a handline? Are we not giving up a great deal of our capacity? Less capacity means that less lines can be laid by incoming crews.

I'm just curious as to whether anyone has taken this into consideratoin.

Big Paulie: If your still reading the posts, please comment on this considering you are probably the most qualified on this topic.

Thanks for your thoughts in advance!

------------------

HYTHE FIRE DEPARTMENT
    Firehouse.com Guest

I am no expert in hydrolics or pump efficiencies, but should we be more concerned with the pressure and efficiency at the nozzle rather than the pump? Depending on the number and size of lines you are running, and the type of nozzles, you may have no choice as to what pressure to run at. If your friction loss calculations tell you that you have to run your pump at 300 psi, then you have to run at 300 psi even though this is less efficient.

John

BIG PAULIE
    Firehouse.com Guest

To KEA- (this will be a 2 part answer)