BIG PAULIE
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post advancing large handlines

Just a little survey. I am an instructor of fire streams. When I teach large handline deployment(2-1/2" and 3") I get into some pretty high flows. My question is, When you pull a large handline how often or what percentage of the time are you actually advancing while flowing water. My teachings are geared towards pulling the big line to make a big initial hit on a fire from a specific place in a stationary position. Basically this is a ofensive attack.

Dalmation90
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

Well, our use of the 2.5" is almost always on agricultural buildings -- especially chicken coops which we have go up about once every other year (we used to be a huge poultry area).

We do move the 2.5" -- generally perpindecular (sp?) to the building from the unburned end to the seat. And we all admit it ain't pretty -- it's a 7+ firefighter muckle on. But flowing 350gpm fog it does a good job knocking down the bulk of the fire and the handlines can mop up. Of course if the roof has already burned out, we just sit back and let the ladder pipe have at.

But outside of that situation, I can't see us advancing/moving a big line while flowing!

NUMBY
    Firehouse.com Guest