Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    AFD23
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Car fires water or foam

OUR DEPT IS NOW THINKING OF USING A PRECONNECTED LINE FOR FOAM ON CAR FIRES. JUST WANTED TO KNOW IF ANY OTHER DEPTS ARE DOING THE SAME,AND FOR WHAT REASON, OR WHAT YOU THINK WORKS BETTER WATER OR FOAM.

------------------

rocky367
    Firehouse.com Guest

Not that I'm an expert at this but working car fires at the race track I work for, and having seen water and foam used on the same fire, I will say that foam in my opinion is the way to go.

dtj
    Firehouse.com Guest

Class B foam is definitely the way to go when the gas tank is involved/impinged. It's a waste of foam and money if you don't need it for extinguishment or personnel protection. AFFF is also good for creating a vapor barrier to prevent ignition if there is a fuel spill. Otherwise, water works good.

[This message has been edited by dtj (edited May 12, 2000).]

e33
    Firehouse.com Guest

Can you use Class A foam...I have heard it works well on auto fires. Figuring most car fires involve plastic, cloth and other combustibles class A sounds A-OK to me. Ive even heard of class A being used to combat fuel tanker fires and having great success. Any thoughts?

------------------
    The opinions and views expressed herin are solely mine and not on the behalf of any department or organization I belong to.
    All of the information in my postings is a combination of skills and knowledge from classes, conferences, seminars, practical application, books and articles, my experience and trial and error. I don't profess to be an expert in anything. You can never stop learning.

mtnfireguy
    Firehouse.com Guest

Yes, you can use Class A foam. It works well for the initial knockdown especially when the interior is involved. It does not give you the vapor suppression that AFFF does, but if you do not have fuel spilled its not an issue. It also takes less of it.