Default CA. WOODEN LADDERS

WHILE IN A DISCUSSION AND TRAINING YESTERDAY AT WORK THE SUBJECT OF WOODEN LADDERS CAME UP. THE ENSUING TOPIC BECAME WHY DO SOME CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENTS PRODUCE AND USE WOODEN LADDERS, TRADITION OR SOME OTHER REASON. I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR FROM SOME WEST COAST FIRE FIGHTERS ON THIS ONE. IT SEEMS LIKE THAT THE WOODED TYPE ARE MORE PREVALENT IN CA???? WHY?????
    YES I AM A PROFESSIONAL FIRE FIGHTER AND YES I AM IN THE UNION

Not from CA but, my 1st company bought a Trk from NY state which had wooden ladders. The roof ladders are nice because they are arched. The 24' is a bear...it is a struggle even with 2 guys. Finally we replaced it with an aluminum ladder. As for the old wooden.... it magically disappeared...
    I too would like to know why CA has traditionally stayed with wooden ladders.
    Keep Safe!

Forum Member

San Francisco was famous for using hand-made wooden ladders, including a monster with outrigger poles, can't remember how tall it is. Not positive if this is still the case or the specific reasons they've stayed with wood over the alternative materials.
    In Arduis Fidelis
    Faithful in Adversity

MembersZone Subscriber

The discussion of metal v. Wooden ladders is an interesting one.

First lets look at the features of both:

Metal=
    -Good Conductor of heat, cold and ELECTRICITY.
    -Easily repairable
    -Can suddenly fail from heat and flame exposure without warning.

Wood=
    -Higher cost than metal
    -Can be exposed to heat and fire and retain its strength.
    -Nonconductor
    -good durablity
    -requires occasional mantenance

Second the factor of weight should be examined:
    The common belief is that all wooden ladders are heavier than their metal counter parts. Citing a chart from John Mittendorfs book Truck Company Ops----
    Metal
    24ft ext 75-142lbs
    20ft str 65
    16ft str 56
    Wood
    24ft ext 110
    20ft str 65
    16ft str 52