j crooke
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Munter hitch vs fig 8

I attended a structural fire/rescue class recently & came across an instructor using a munter (SP?) hitch for lowering victim or rescuer. He said he would preferr using that type of lowering device over a rescue 8 or rack. there was also a guy in the class that said the same.
    Any feedback?
    pros, cons
    the good , the bad, the ugly

thanks in advance

------------------
    Jeff Crooke
    engineer291@yahoo.com
    Marshalls Creek fire/rescue
    PA

[This message has been edited by j crooke (edited October 19, 1999).]

PTFD21
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

I am no expert, but in that kind of situation ( firefighter self rescue or victim rescue from a fire condition), I think it makes sense to use the Munter. It is easier to use and requires less space, no carrying an 8 plate.

------------------
    ED C.
    "Doin' it for lives and property !"
    <A HREF="http://www.freeyellow.com/members8/ptfd21/index.htm"" TARGET=_blank>http://www.freeyellow.com/members8/ptfd21/index.htm"</A> Pittsfield Twp. F.D.

JPerkMCFD3
    Firehouse.com Guest

Just what is this Munter Hitch you guys are referring to. I've not heard of it. Any ideas for sources of information would be helpful.

thanks

ThomasF451
    Firehouse.com Guest

The munter hitch is best suited to use as a single person belay hitch. It has a tendancy to tighten up when shock loaded which helps you catch a falling load. One drawback to using it is that you have nylon running on nylon which generates friction and can possibly damage the rope. Any time you perform a lowering operation a friction device should be used such as the figure eight plate. The Eight plate is designed for this purpose and has options the munter hitch does not have. (lock off, variable friction) A munter hitch can be used if no other friction device is available, but it should be a back up and not the main choice.

------------------
    Lt. Tom Finch