Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    TJHELMS
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Industrial Confined Space Rescue

I`m looking for any member of an industrial confined space rescue team or fire dept.if you are designated the primary responder to an industrial confined space incident. I would like to know if your rescue team is notified or put on standby anytime a permit confined space entry is being done in your facility? Are all team members put on standby? Do you stage equiptment on scene when ever a permit entry is being done? Are your spaces preplanned?
    I also would like to know a little bit about what type of facility and what type of vessels you have and use for training.
    I belong to International Papers, Kaukauna Wi Facility`s confined space rescue/fire responce team.

Thanks for any help,
    Lt. Timothy J. Helms
    Freedom Fire Dept.
    International Papers
    Confined Space Rescue Team

morriss
    Firehouse.com Guest

I am an Engineer at a Nuclear Power plant. We have permit required confined space entries into piping, tanks, and pits. We have an on site rescue team that is made of from members of the on site fire brigade and rescue (EMTs) team. We have a requirement that at least two members of the confined space team must be present for the duration of the entry and must be briefed prior to the entry. All entries are pre-planned with some being continuous for several week durations. For these, we will stage our essential equipemnt in the area.

We make 100% full scale mock-ups of the larger jobs. This allows the team to practice under the same conditions that would be required for a rescue.

We have been very fortunate and have not had to make a rescue in the last ten years. There was a fatality back in the 70's here where a worker became unresponsive down in a 65 foot deep pit. The rescurer went down and died do to oxygen deficiency. The original worker was rescued and revived.

Halligan84
    Firehouse.com Guest