Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    mwalshnh
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Walk In or Walk Around Rescue Bodies

I am a Firefighter on a small NH Fire Rescue Department, we currently run a Pickup body rescue truck...in the future (unsure of distance) we would like to purchase a new Heavy Rescue. We are looking at the differences between the walk through/walk around body styles. Please share your expiriences with these types of trucks. We are leaning toward walk through to assist with the cold weather rehab issue...any help would be appreciated.

Also could you let me know what has worked for you as far as equipping the apparatus goes as well. Thanks

------------------

Medic019
    Firehouse.com Guest

Personnally speaking, A walk-thru rescue body is the way to go. As you stated protecting yourselves from the climatic conditions and rehab is one reason. There are other multiple reasons to go with the walkthru design - A incident command post & the ability to carry more manpower are just a couple of them.

I have worked with both with the walkthru design and the walk-around.

The walk around design did not carry the necessary manpower we needed when we responded to mutual requests. We still have a service in the area that responds its 'Heavy Rescue' to mutual aid requests ( a walk around) and can only send two guys with the truck ( This is not near even manpower for a complicated rescue operation ).

I'd say, personally, Walk-Thru design hands down.

------------------
    Firefighter/Paramedic in Northwest Pennsylvain... Stay Safe

phyrngn
    Firehouse.com Guest