Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Sutphen Aerial

LtDanCobbFD
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Sutphen Aerial

I would like to hear from ya'll about your experiences with the Sutphen aerials. We are looking to buy a platform and really like the low overall vehicle weight. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks

Lt. Cobb of Cobb Co:

Look just a bit east to Roswell. We have 2 platforms. I'm new to the dept, but call the dept. office and someone there will help you. BTW, I work in Cobb Co. Contact me offlist if you'd like.

------------------
    Rick Reed
    Do it right, do it safely, do it once.

smitheps
    Firehouse.com Guest

Sutphen makes a fantastic piece if you can afford one....aluminum ladders save weight, they have a great safty record, their mid-mount designs are great if you have bridge clearance concerns they are available with short wheel bases AND as far as I can tell, they offer the best "tower/quint" on the market. ie, Large hose bed, acceptable tank size, hale QSMG 2000gmp, etc. Also, other alternatives that I find to be fine pieces of apparatus...Seagrave/Baker 75 or 95ft towers (toughest piece in the history of the fire service), E-one rear-mount aluminum 95 ft tower, and Smeal 85ft mid mount tower

MetalMedic
    Firehouse.com Guest

Smile

My former department has a Sutphen. Compared to the LTI where I am at now, the Sutphen is a much more stable platform. The only drawbacks it had was a lack of side rails and an open area where you stepped from the ladder into the platform. I understand Sutphen has overcome these problems in later models. The sutphen also had two monitors compared to the one on the LTI which was a plus. And I prefer the midship over rear mount for easy of set-up.

------------------
    Richard Nester
    Orrville (OH) Fire Dept.

FIREKRAUT
    Firehouse.com Guest