Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    mike m
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post federal firefighter memories

i worked as a federal ff for a number of years before moving on to a municipal dept.i have lost contact with all my brother feds.if there are fed ff who worked during the mid 70s lets share some memories with the younger ffs does anyone remember the old 530 engines on a deuce and a half chassis, let me know.lets talk about the old times,also tell me about the changes over the last 20 years

[This message has been edited by mike m (edited 12-27-2000).]

dtj
    Firehouse.com Guest

I remember the 530B, 750A, 0-11's, P-2's with gas engines, protein foam in rusty red cans, and CB extinguishers. I started with the USAF in '77, military, not civil service. Was assigned to Duke Field, Eielson, and Reese AFB.

Forgot to add Dover AFB with the USAF Reserve.

[This message has been edited by dtj (edited 12-27-2000).]

ArmyTruckCompany
    Firehouse.com Guest

Mike M- US Army Fire/Rescue here, Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD.

We still have a P530C here on post (was in service untill about a year ago, now at the motor pool awaiting disposal.) We used it mostly for brush fires. We also still have a home-built 1000gal tanker on a deuce and a half chassis, and it still gets used regularly.....What a monster!! YEEE HAWWW!!!! 900 and some-odd Cubic Inch Cummins, 5 speed with a 2 speed splitter....Strongarm power steering...2-60 air conditioning.....It's the BINFORD 9000 tank truck!!

I am now in my 5th year in the federal fire service (started at US Navy FD NAWC Warminster, Pa. Then to US Navy FD Phila. Naval Shipyard...thank you BRAC now I am in the ARMY!!) BE ALL YOU CAN BE!

------------------
    "Loyalty above all else, except honor."

xchief9b
    Firehouse.com Guest

dtj