Default 57 age limit approved

Just happen to see that the Senate Government Affairs Committee this week approved legislation raising the mandatory retirement age from 55 to 57. the bill doesnt impact the ability to retire at 50. It is expected to recieve final approval shortly.

Looks like some of those old dinosaurs will be sticking around a little longer

Stay safe,
    Dave
    FTM-PTB

In my opinion, and experience there are definitley two sides to the age limit issue. When I was an Air Force firefighter at Eglin AFB, Florida we had quite a few Civil Service firefighters that were military retirees and in their mid 50's to late 60's. One in paticular, every time he climbed in and out of the engine's cab I thought he was going to have a heart attack. Another, in his early sixties could outwork us all in the wieght room and on the treadmill. He was in tremendous shape.a lot better physical shape then I ever could hope to be!
    And I am not looking at this issue from the stand point that since I was 37 when I retired from the Air Force I could not apply for a Civil Service firefighter job like the "Old Timers" did.
    Is the age limit a fair standard? I'm not sure-would fitness standards(enforced fitness standards) be a better judge? Not just the old guys were out of shape-a lot of the younger "civilians" as well as the G.I. firefighters did not meet fitness standards - myself included at times.
    Course I always thought age discrimination was against the law-except where the federal government was concerned (only kidding)!

Jeff T.
    U.S.Air Force Retired
    77-97

Forum Member

IF the bill gets put into effect, it will be nice for some to be able to 'round out' their careers to a nice even figure--like 25 years, or perhaps 30 years. I know it will affect me that way. Still, will be nice to be able to go once the minimums are reached.