bicbic
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Respriatory PPE OSHA standard

Does anyone know what the OSHA respiratory standard is for wildland firefighting? If so, where can I find the info. What is your department doing to meet the standard?

bob1350
    Firehouse.com Guest

As a Incident Safety officer, I wasn't aware of a standard. Its more like put a bandana over your mouth and take aspirin/Advil for the headaches your gonna get

ddavis
    Firehouse.com Guest

There is not an OSHA standard for wildland respiratory protection.

NIOSH is the agency responsible for actually testing, approving and classifying all types of respiratory protection, and they do not have any class for wildland firefighting. When I spoke with their office a couple of years ago they informed me of this. At that time they had no plans to develop any, and that if they did somehow find the funding to start a project to do so, it would be many years before it would be available for use.

SWIDFCWINS
    Firehouse.com Guest

Lightbulb

There are no standards. There should be. There have been several studies completed by wildland fire agencies to try and arrive at a standard of some sort. Nothing as of yet.
    There are a few PPE filter type devices that are available. Check the fire trade magazines for information on purchasing one of these items. They are better than a cotton bandana.

------------------
    DFCWINS

J.Watt
    Firehouse.com Guest